About Us

The Town of Hume, established in 1822, is located in the picturesque Genesee River Valley in the northeast corner in Allegany County, New York. The Town of Hume is comprised of five hamlets, Mills Mills, Hume, Wiscoy, Rossburg and Fillmore. The former Caneadea Indian (Seneca) Reservation follows the path of the Genesee River starting in Wiscoy to the Town of Caneadea boundary.

The population of the Town was 2017 at the last census in 2010. The Fillmore Central School District, Rochester, Gas & Electric and Houghton College employ many of our local inhabitants.